Official Tourist Board Website
Call us today! 01723 383636

Robin Hood's Bay

Robin Hood's Bay

It's probably one of the most photographed locations in the world: no trip to this part of the world is complete without a visit to Robin Hood's Bay.

Make sure you have plenty of energy - that steep street snaking down from the clifftop to the beach at the bottom, and lined with lovely cottages, shops and cafes, which seems even steeper on the way back up!

New for 2017 is the mosaic on the parapet wall overlooking the sea, believed to be one of the longest in the country and depicting a timeline of events in Robin Hood's Bay, from the Jurassic period to the present day, including fossils, smuggling, shipwrecks, storms, fishing and wildlife.

Robin Hood’s Bay has a strong literary heritage, too – writer Leo Walmsley grew up there, and his Bramblewick series is set in the town.

Robin Hood's Bay is the eastern end of Alfred Wainwright's famous 190 mile Coast to Coast walk, and is also a popular stopping off point for those walking the Cleveland Way. And if you're on the coast over the winter, the festive Victorian Weekend in early December is worth a visit!

Just a little bit about Robin Hood's Bay...

The historic fishing community, once a centre for smuggling, starts high up on the cliff and then tumbles steeply down to the beach, with intriguing alleyways and side streets leading off the main street. 
 
Robin Hood's Bay beach is family-friendly and great for the fossil hunter.

Robin Hood's Bay - Jurassic Coast

Robin Hood's Bay

Robin Hood's Bay - Victorian Weekend

For such a tiny place, there’s a huge amount going on in Robin Hood's Bay, with great cafes and shops, regular music events and festivals.

Robin Hood's Bay in early each December hosts a popular Victorian Christmas Weekend with all sorts of festivities and japes.

Plan Your Visit

 
Coast to Coast - Robin Hood's Bay
Alfred Wainwright's Coast to Coast
Robin Hood's Bay
Robin Hood's Bay Beach

What's On in Robin Hood's Bay

What's On in Robin Hood's Bay

Events from
date event
Sat 18 - Sun 26 Feb Half Term Fun at Whitby Abbey, Whitby
Mon 27 Mar - Sun 5 Nov From Kamchatka to Krakatoa: the Cook Voyages, Asia at Captain Cook Memorial Museum, Whitby, Whitby
Sat 24 Jun Armed Forces Day at Whitby Town, Whitby
Sat 24 Jun Coast to Coast at Whitby Town, Whitby
Thu 27 - Sun 30 Jul Whitby & District Lion's 8th Charity Beer Festival at Whitby Mission and Seafarer's Centre, Whitby
Sat 19 - Fri 25 Aug Whitby Folk Week at Whitby - various venues, Whitby
Sat 19 - Mon 21 Aug Whitby Regatta at Whitby - various venues, Whitby

Discover Events in the Coastal Villages

Jack

Jack and the Beanstalk - Pantomime 2017

Whitby

Mon 16 - Fri 20 Jan 2017

Jack and the Beanstalk by Alan P Frayn Directed by & Musical Direction by Chris Wales Choreography by Sue Crossland

Quicker by Rail

Lunchtime Lecture with Karen Snowden

Scarborough

Tue 10 - Tue 31 Jan 2017

Lunchtime Lectures with Karen Snowden - THE HISTORY OF BRITISH SUMMER HOLIDAYS

Tea Dances with Ray Kirk

Tea Dances with Ray Kirk

Whitby

Tue 27 Sep 2016 - Tue 28 Mar 2017

We invite you to put on your dancing shoes and dance the afternoon away in the wonderful surroundings of The Northern Lights Suite.

Scarborough Art Gallery

East Coast Open - Local Art, Local People

Scarborough

Sat 21 Jan - Sun 12 Mar 2017

The East Coast open is a chance for anyone from the local community to exhibit their work at Scarborough Art Gallery.

Jack

Jack and the Beanstalk - Pantomime 2017

Whitby

Sat 21 Jan 2017

Jack and the Beanstalk by Alan P Frayn Directed by & Musical Direction by Chris Wales Choreography by Sue Crossland

Rogue One

Rogue One: A Star Wars Story (12a)

Whitby

Sun 22 Jan 2017

Sunday 22 January: 2.30pm Monday 23 January: 7.30pm Tuesday 24 January: 7.30pm

Sing

Sing (PG)

Whitby

Sun 22 Jan - Wed 22 Feb 2017

Friday 17 February: 6pm Saturday 18 February: 2.30pm Sunday 19 February: 2.30pm Monday 20 February: 2.30pm Tuesday 21 February: 2.30pm Wednesday 22 February: 2.30pm Thursday 23 February: 6pm

Easy Street with Howard Beaumont

Easy Street with Howard Beaumont: The Monday Menu

Scarborough

Mon 23 Jan 2017

Relax with the wonderful backdrop of Scarborough’s South Bay whilst listening to some of the very best musical talent that the local area has to offer.

Rogue One

Rogue One: A Star Wars Story (12a)

Whitby

Mon 23 Jan 2017

Sunday 22 January: 2.30pm Monday 23 January: 7.30pm Tuesday 24 January: 7.30pm

Rogue One

Rogue One: A Star Wars Story (12a)

Whitby

Tue 24 Jan 2017

Sunday 22 January: 2.30pm Monday 23 January: 7.30pm Tuesday 24 January: 7.30pm

Give Blood

Give Blood: Blood Donation Session

Scarborough

Fri 27 Jan 2017

Do something amazing.

The Carpenters Story

The Carpenters Story

Scarborough

Fri 27 Jan 2017

The award-winning Carpenters Story celebrates the music of one of the most successful pop duos in music history, Richard & Karen Carpenter.

80s Party Night

80s Party Night

Scarborough

Sat 28 Jan 2017

Relive the 80s at Scarborough Spa in January 2017.

Ballerina

Ballerina (U)

Whitby

Sat 28 Jan 2017

Saturday 28 January: 2.30pm Sunday 29 January: 2.30pm

Ballerina

Ballerina (U)

Whitby

Sun 29 Jan 2017

Saturday 28 January: 2.30pm Sunday 29 January: 2.30pm

Collateral Beauty

Collateral Beauty (12a)

Whitby

Mon 30 Jan 2017

Monday 30 January: 2.30pm Tuesday 31 January: 7.30pm Wednesday 1 February: 7.30pm

Shoresound

Shoresound: The Monday Menu With Music

Scarborough

Mon 30 Jan 2017

This week we are delighted to welcome Shoresound Duo, who are Harry Bullen and Terri-Ann Prendergast.

Collateral Beauty

Collateral Beauty (12a)

Whitby

Tue 31 Jan 2017

Monday 30 January: 2.30pm Tuesday 31 January: 7.30pm Wednesday 1 February: 7.30pm

Collateral Beauty

Collateral Beauty (12a)

Whitby

Wed 1 Feb 2017

Monday 30 January: 2.30pm Tuesday 31 January: 7.30pm Wednesday 1 February: 7.30pm

Business Open Event

Business Open Event

Scarborough

Thu 2 Feb 2017

Come along to our complimentary Business Open Event on Thursday 2nd of February 2017 from 12pm - 3pm. Sample delicious food, view our conference facilities and take part in a fun team-building exercise.

EPW Wrestling

EPW Wrestling

Scarborough

Fri 3 Feb 2017

EPW presents an evening of action filled live American wrestling at the Scarborough Spa’s Grand Hall.

Who's Keeping Score

Who's Keeping Score?

Scarborough

Fri 3 - Sat 4 Feb 2017

A new play devised by the SJT’s OutReach Young Company will tackle the topical subjects of elections and how they’re influenced by social media.

Yorkshire Coast

Scarborough Hospitality Association Dinner Dance F

Scarborough

Sat 4 Feb 2017

The Scarborough Hospitality Dinner Dance provides an opportunity to network with local Tourism and Hospitality partners in the fabulous Ocean Room at the Scarborough Spa.

The Illegal Eagles

The Illegal Eagles

Scarborough

Sat 4 Feb 2017

Often acclaimed as the World’s Official No.1 Eagles tribute, The Illegal Eagles return to the stage in 2017, this time celebrating their own incredible 20 years of UK & international touring!