Official Tourist Board Website
Call us today! 01723 383636

Refine your search

Type of Venue

 

Location

 

Facilities

 

Or Venue Name

 
 

image for Exhibition item typeChristmas at Castle Howard at Castle Howard

  • Discover Yorkshire Coast members logo
  • VistEngland VAQAS
  • White Rose Award Winner
  • York Tourism Awards Winner
  • York Pass
  • Welcome To Yorkshire Member
  • Historic Houses Association Friends Scheme
  • The Treasure Houses of England

Exhibition, from 16 Nov 2019

Christmas at Castle Howard

Christmas at Castle Howard

Image courtesy of Vanessa Galashan.

Details

New for Christmas 2019! Christmas opening will run into the new year - until Sunday 5th January 2020.

Enjoy a truly magical day out as Castle Howard is transformed for the festive season. Experience the magnificent decorations as you journey through the House’s grand state rooms. Open fires, candle light and live music evoke all that we love about this special time of year, with the iconic 25 foot Christmas tree adorned with over 3000 baubles providing a breath-taking highlight in the Great Hall.

Inspirational design team Charlotte Lloyd Webber and Bretta Gereke have worked with the theme 'A Christmas Masquerade’ to produce a stunning array of flamboyant displays and installations to surprise and delight visitors of all ages.

The Castle Howard "Christmas Masquerade” celebrates the House’s theatrical roots and the influence of the Italian Baroque on its magnificent architecture and interiors. The House prepares for a grand masked ball inspired by the Venetian Carnival to be held in the Long Gallery spectacularly adorned as the Grand Canal. Amongst the sumptuous decorations and awe inspiring costumes, a troupe of travelling players prepare festive entertainments for the guests. These ebullient, mischievous characters - Harlequin, Colombine, Pierrot and the Zanni Clown are part of the famous Commedia dell Arte who became the much-loved characters of the pantomimes that remain one of our best beloved Christmas traditions. A magical immersive experience that will embody the spirit of the season in true Castle Howard style.

It is easy to spend a full day here as you soak up the jovial atmosphere, enjoy an array of indulgent winter warmers across our catering outlets and complete your Christmas shopping in our Gift Shops, Farm Shop and Garden Centre. And don’t miss the opportunity to meet the big man himself as Father Christmas will be making some very special visits.

Visit on one of our Twilight Evenings and discover Castle Howard in a new light as night falls as we stay open in to the Evening (30th November, 7th December, 14th December and 21st December).

(Closed Christmas Eve and Christmas Day).

Please click here to purchase tickets for the House & Grounds this Christmas.

To find out more about our group prices, for group visits of 12 or more people, please contact 01653648621 or email groups@castlehoward.co.uk

Baby changing facilitiesCoach parties acceptedCredit cards accepted (no fee)Disabled toiletsFacilities for groupsFrench signs/guidesGerman signs/guidesGift shopItalian signs/guidesOn-site cateringOn-site light refreshmentsPicnic sitePostboxPublic toiletsRegional Tourist Board MemberSpanish signs/guidesTelephone (public)Welcome HostWheelchairs availableAccepts groupsFacilities for conferencingFacilities for corporate hospitalityHelicopter landing

Children welcome

Event details

Dates Times
Sat 16 Nov 2019
Sun 17 Nov 2019
Mon 18 Nov 2019
Tue 19 Nov 2019
Wed 20 Nov 2019
Thu 21 Nov 2019
Fri 22 Nov 2019
Sat 23 Nov 2019
Sun 24 Nov 2019
Mon 25 Nov 2019
Tue 26 Nov 2019
Wed 27 Nov 2019
Thu 28 Nov 2019
Fri 29 Nov 2019
Sat 30 Nov 2019
Sun 1 Dec 2019
Mon 2 Dec 2019
Tue 3 Dec 2019
Wed 4 Dec 2019
Thu 5 Dec 2019
Fri 6 Dec 2019
Sat 7 Dec 2019
Sun 8 Dec 2019
Mon 9 Dec 2019
Tue 10 Dec 2019
Wed 11 Dec 2019
Thu 12 Dec 2019
Fri 13 Dec 2019
Sat 14 Dec 2019
Sun 15 Dec 2019
Mon 16 Dec 2019
Wed 18 Dec 2019
Thu 19 Dec 2019
Fri 20 Dec 2019
Sat 21 Dec 2019
Sun 22 Dec 2019
Mon 23 Dec 2019
Tue 24 Dec 2019
Thu 26 Dec 2019
Fri 27 Dec 2019
Sat 28 Dec 2019
Sun 29 Dec 2019
Mon 30 Dec 2019
Tue 31 Dec 2019

Address

Castle Howard Estate Limited.,
Castle Howard,
York,
YO60 7DA

Location

Directions

See location of Castle Howard on Google mapsSee location on Google maps

Map reference: SE 716700  Lat: 54.12089 Long: -0.90601

Castle Howard is located 15 miles north east of York, just off the A64. From the A64, follow the brown tourist signs for Castle Howard.

Due to narrow gateways, coaches and large vehicles should continue on the A64 to Malton and approach Castle Howard from Malton/Coneysthorpe.

Bus services run from York and Malton.

Check the Castle Howard website for details.

Parking: free

Accessible by Public Transport: 7 miles from Malton station

Facilities

  • Baby changing facilitiesBaby changing facilities
  • Coach parties acceptedCoach parties accepted
  • Credit cards accepted (no fee)Credit cards accepted (no fee)
  • Disabled toiletsDisabled toilets
  • Facilities for groupsFacilities for groups
  • French signs/guidesFrench signs/guides
  • German signs/guidesGerman signs/guides
  • Gift shopGift shop
  • Italian signs/guidesItalian signs/guides
  • On-site cateringOn-site catering
  • On-site light refreshmentsOn-site light refreshments
  • Picnic sitePicnic site
  • PostboxPostbox
  • Public toiletsPublic toilets
  • Regional Tourist Board MemberRegional Tourist Board Member
  • Spanish signs/guidesSpanish signs/guides
  • Telephone (public)Telephone (public)
  • Welcome HostWelcome Host
  • Wheelchairs availableWheelchairs available
  • Accepts groupsAccepts groups
  • Facilities for conferencingFacilities for conferencing
  • Facilities for corporate hospitalityFacilities for corporate hospitality
  • Helicopter landingHelicopter landing
  • Children welcomeChildren welcome

Reviews