Official Tourist Board Website
Call us today! 01723 383636

Refine your search

Type of Venue

 

Location

 

Facilities

 

Or Venue Name

 
 

image for Tram item typeCliff Lift - Spa

Tram

Cliff Lift - Spa

Cliff Lift - Spa

Details

The Spa Cliff Lift opened on July 6th 1875 and was the first funicular railway in Great Britain.The lift was originally powered by sea-water using a counterweight system. Two gas engines (replaced by steam pumps in 1879) were installed to pump the sea water to the upper station to fill the top car. In 1947, the hydraulic system was replaced by electricity.

October/November 2019

Tuesday 29 October: 10am to 5pm
Wednesday 30 October: 10am to 5pm
Thursday 31 October: 10am to 11pm

Friday 1 November: 10am to 10.30pm
Saturday 2 November: 9am to 10.30pm
Sunday 3 November: 10am to 10.30pm

Monday 4 November: 10am to 5pm
Tuesday 5 November: 10am to 5pm
Wednesday 6 November: 10am to 5pm
Thursday 7 November: 10am to 5pm
Friday 8 November: 10am to 11pm
Saturday 9 November: 10am to 11.30pm
Sunday 10 November: 10am to 10.30pm

Monday 11 November: 10am to 5pm
Tuesday 12 November: 10am to 5pm
Wednesday 13 November: 10am to 5pm
Thursday 14 November: 10am to 9.30pm
Friday 15 November: 10am to 10.30pm
Saturday 16 November: 10am to 11pm
Sunday 17 November: 10am to 10.30pm

Monday 18 November: 10am to 5pm
Tuesday 19 November: 10am to 5pm
Wednesday 20 November: 10am to 5pm
Thursday 21 November: 10am to 10.30pm
Friday 22 November: 10am to 10.30pm
Saturday 23 November: 8.30am to 10.30pm
Sunday 24 November: 10am to 5pm

Monday 25 November: 10am to 5pm
Tuesday 26 November: 10am to 5pm
Wednesday 27 November: 10am to 5pm
Thursday 28 November: 10am to 11.30pm
Friday 29 November: 8.30am to 11pm
Saturday 30 November: 9am to 11pm



If you have any questions, please get in touch by emailing spaenquiries@siv.org.uk or ring 01723 376774 (Option 7).

Children welcomeDisabled accessDogs accepted

Opening details

Please click on link above for current running times.
All times during the winter are dependent on weather and demand. The lifts will run to coincide with shows at the Spa wherever possible. Please call Spa direct to confirm the lift is open. Normal running times when open 10.00 - 17.00.

Prices

2018 prices -->

Adult Single: £1
Adult Return: £1.60

Child Single: 60p
Child Return: £1

Children under 5's travel FREE

Weekly Adult Ticket: £10
Weekly Child Ticket: £5

Season Tickets: £120 (Forms available on request)

Address

Esplanade,
Scarborough,
North Yorkshire,
YO11 2AW

Location

Directions

See location of Cliff Lift - Spa on Google mapsSee location on Google maps

Map reference: TA 043875  Lat: 54.27252 Long: -0.39983

By road:
Follow signs into Scarborough Railway Station. Turn right at the traffic lights by the station and cross over Valley Bridge. Take your 1st left after the bridge onto Ramshill Rd, then an immediate sharp right crossing over a lane onto Belmont Rd. Follow the Rd and the cliff lift is on your left.

Parking: free

Accessible by Public Transport: 1 mile from Scarborough station

Facilities

  • Children welcomeChildren welcome
  • Disabled accessDisabled access
  • Dogs acceptedDogs accepted